Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Gemini API Docs vs thinking-partner

Gemini API Docs is an MCP server published by kgprs. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). thinking-partner is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by mattnowdev. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceGemini API Docsthinking-partner
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: sha256:ba912546626d
Forks (GitHub): 1
Pulls (Docker Hub): 38 268
Stars (Docker Hub): 2
Stars (GitHub): 3
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 17
Stars (GitHub): 210
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Gemini API Docs vs thinking-partner
FactGemini API Docsthinking-partner
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)3 (worse)210 (better)
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)38 268No figure on Docker Hub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)1 (worse)17 (better)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (mcp/gemini-api-docs-mcp)Installs as a plugin bundle
Transport (differs)stdioNot stated
Tools it declares (differs)3Not published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)Not a bundle1
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/kgprs/gemini-api-docs-mcpgithub.com/mattnowdev/thinking-partner
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-12

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Gemini API Docs

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

Provides tools to search and retrieve Google Gemini API documentation.

thinking-partner

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

A deterministic thinking partner that challenges assumptions and applies 150+ mental models across 17 disciplines to sharpen decisions, solve problems, and think more clearly. Features include orientation detection that diagnoses 6 thinking states with targeted interventions, a structured 6-step workflow from diagnosis to synthesis, 7 complementary cognitive operation pairs, and explicit anti-patterns to avoid common reasoning failures. Works as a sparring session, not a lecture, asks one question at a time, names the model being applied, and challenges where it matters.

How to run each

Gemini API Docs As a local MCP server: Docker image

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio gemini-api-docs -- docker run -i --rm mcp/gemini-api-docs-mcp

thinking-partner

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of thinking-partner publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: Gemini API Docs · What it can do: thinking-partner · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built