Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Omi vs MemoryLayer

Omi is an MCP server published by BasedHardware. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). MemoryLayer is an MCP server published by memorylayer.in. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-12. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceOmiMemoryLayer
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: sha256:674097f43757
Forks (GitHub): 2 602
Pulls (Docker Hub): 33 749
Stars (Docker Hub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 13 700
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.7.1
Downloads/month (npm): 387
Downloads/week (npm): 34
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Omi vs MemoryLayer
FactOmiMemoryLayer
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)13 700No figure on GitHub
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)33 749No figure on Docker Hub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)2 602No figure on GitHub
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (mcp/omi)On your machine (@raajvamsy/memorylayer)
Transportstdiostdio
Tools it declares (differs)6Not published
Environment variables it asks for1, secrets among them: 11, secrets among them: 1
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/basedhardware/omiNot stated
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Omi

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

A Model Context Protocol server for Omi interaction and automation. This server provides tools to read, search, and manipulate Memories and Conversations.

MemoryLayer

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Local-first persistent memory for AI agents, with reasoning and formal verification.

How to run each

Omi As a local MCP server: Docker image

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "OMI_API_KEY=<YOUR_OMI_API_KEY>" --transport stdio omi -- docker run -i --rm -e OMI_API_KEY mcp/omi

Requires: OMI_API_KEY (secret)

MemoryLayer As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "MEMORY_API_KEY=<YOUR_MEMORY_API_KEY>" --transport stdio memorylayer -- npx -y @raajvamsy/memorylayer

Requires: MEMORY_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of MemoryLayer publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

Only Omi asks for

  • OMI_API_KEY (secret)

Only MemoryLayer asks for

  • MEMORY_API_KEY (secret)

Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.

What it can do: Omi · What it can do: MemoryLayer · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built