Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

gitlab vs io.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab

gitlab is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by GitLab. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official). io.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab is an MCP server published by vish288. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-12. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacegitlabio.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Listed
Version: not stated
Forks (GitHub): 4 247
Stars (GitHub): 37 724
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.17.0
Forks (GitHub): 3
Stars (GitHub): 6
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

gitlab vs io.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab
Factgitlabio.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)37 724 (better)6 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)4 247 (better)3 (worse)
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-12
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (gitlab.com/api/v4/mcp)On your machine (mcp-gitlab)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published9, secrets among them: 3
Parts of the bundle (differs)1Not a bundle
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-officialgithub.com/vish288/mcp-gitlab
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)01
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)not checked yetno remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

gitlab

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-official:

GitLab DevOps platform integration. Manage repositories, merge requests, CI/CD pipelines, issues, and wikis. Full access to GitLab's comprehensive DevOps lifecycle tools.

io.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

GitLab MCP server for MCP 2026-07-28: projects, MRs, files, reviews, pipelines, CI/CD, issues

How to run each

gitlab As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin install gitlab@claude-plugins-official

io.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "GITLAB_OAUTH_CLIENT_SECRET=<YOUR_GITLAB_OAUTH_CLIENT_SECRET>" --env "GITLAB_OAUTH_JWT_KEY=<YOUR_GITLAB_OAUTH_JWT_KEY>" --env "GITLAB_TOKEN=<YOUR_GITLAB_TOKEN>" --env "GITLAB_URL=<YOUR_GITLAB_URL>" --transport stdio mcp-gitlab -- uvx mcp-gitlab

Requires: GITLAB_OAUTH_CLIENT_SECRET (secret), GITLAB_OAUTH_JWT_KEY (secret), GITLAB_TOKEN (secret), GITLAB_URL

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of gitlab publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: gitlab · What it can do: io.github.vish288/mcp-gitlab · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built