conversiontools vs CoreNexis API
conversiontools is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by conversiontools. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). CoreNexis API is an MCP server published by corenexis.com. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 1.8.0 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 7 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.0.0 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | conversiontools | CoreNexis API |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 7 | No figure on GitHub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 1 | No figure on GitHub |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server (mcp.conversiontools.io/mcp) | Remote server (api.corenexis.com/mcp/server) |
| Transport | Streamable HTTP | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 3 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/conversiontools/agent-skills | Not stated |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 2 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-12 |
| Endpoint at the last check | not checked yet | not checked yet |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
conversiontools
Convert files between 140+ formats directly from Claude Code. Documents (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDF), data formats (JSON, CSV, XML, YAML, Parquet), images (PNG, JPG, WebP, AVIF, HEIC, SVG), audio, video, e-books, OCR text extraction, AI text-to-speech, AI speech-to-text transcription, and AI-powered data extraction. Powered by the ConversionTools.io API.
CoreNexis API
PDF from HTML or Markdown, OCR, email validation, image conversion and hosting, QR and barcodes.
How to run each
conversiontools As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install conversiontools@claude-community
CoreNexis API As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http corenexis-api https://api.corenexis.com/mcp/server --header "x-api-key: <YOUR_X_API_KEY>"
Requires: x-api-key header
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: conversiontools · What it can do: CoreNexis API · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.