Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

cpp-language-server vs SSH Session MCP

cpp-language-server is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by microsoft. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins). SSH Session MCP is an MCP server published by Zw-awa. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacecpp-language-serverSSH Session MCP
Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins Listed
Version: 0.1.2
Forks (GitHub): 12
Stars (GitHub): 54
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 2.7.1
Downloads/month (npm): 238
Downloads/week (npm): 38
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 4
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

cpp-language-server vs SSH Session MCP
Factcpp-language-serverSSH Session MCP
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)54 (better)4 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)12 (better)1 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (ssh-session-mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published13, secrets among them: 1
Parts of the bundle (differs)1Not a bundle
Licence (differs)See EULA/LICENSE.txt in @microsoft/cpp-language-server NPM packageNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/microsoft/cpp-language-servergithub.com/zw-awa/ssh-session-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

cpp-language-server

In its own words, on Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins:

Navigate and interact with your C++ code using the Microsoft C++ Language Server.

SSH Session MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Shared SSH PTY runtime for MCP clients with viewer, input lock, async tracking, and policy rules.

How to run each

cpp-language-server

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

SSH Session MCP As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "SSH_PASSWORD=<YOUR_SSH_PASSWORD>" --transport stdio ssh-session-mcp -- npx -y ssh-session-mcp

Requires: SSH_PASSWORD (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of cpp-language-server publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: cpp-language-server · What it can do: SSH Session MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/github/copilot-plugins/blob/HEAD/.github/plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built