Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

canvas-apps vs Taskade MCP

canvas-apps is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by microsoft. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins). Taskade MCP is an MCP server published by taskade. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-12. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacecanvas-appsTaskade MCP
Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins Listed
Version: not stated
Forks (GitHub): 204
Stars (GitHub): 992
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.1.2
Forks (GitHub): 53
Stars (GitHub): 165
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

canvas-apps vs Taskade MCP
Factcanvas-appsTaskade MCP
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)992 (better)165 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)204 (better)53 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (www.taskade.com/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 1
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/microsoft/power-platform-skillsgithub.com/taskade/mcp
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checknot checked yet

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

canvas-apps

In its own words, on Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins:

Build Power Apps Canvas Apps using the Canvas Authoring MCP server.

Taskade MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Hosted OAuth MCP at https://www.taskade.com/mcp, or local @taskade/mcp-server.

How to run each

canvas-apps

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Taskade MCP As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http taskade-mcp https://www.taskade.com/mcp

Requires: TASKADE_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of canvas-apps publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: canvas-apps · What it can do: Taskade MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/github/copilot-plugins/blob/HEAD/.github/plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built