microsoft-365-agents-toolkit vs SSH — policy-gated remote access
microsoft-365-agents-toolkit is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by microsoft. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins). SSH — policy-gated remote access is an MCP server published by tufantunc. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Copilot CLI: github/copilot-plugins | Listed Version: 1.1.0 Forks (GitHub): 141 Stars (GitHub): 1 033 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 2.19.0 Downloads/month (npm): 41 819 Downloads/week (npm): 5 146 Forks (GitHub): 128 Stars (GitHub): 801 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | microsoft-365-agents-toolkit | SSH — policy-gated remote access |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 1 033 (better) | 801 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 141 (better) | 128 (worse) |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-12 |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | On your machine (ssh-mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 4, secrets among them: 3 |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/microsoft/work-iq | github.com/tufantunc/ssh-mcp |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 1 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
microsoft-365-agents-toolkit
Toolkit for building Microsoft 365 Copilot declarative agents — scaffolding, JSON manifest development, and capability configuration.
SSH — policy-gated remote access
Policy-gated, audited SSH for Linux and Windows hosts: roles, approvals, and an audit log.
How to run each
microsoft-365-agents-toolkit
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
SSH — policy-gated remote access As a local MCP server: npm package
claude mcp add --env "SSH_MCP_PASSPHRASE=<YOUR_SSH_MCP_PASSPHRASE>" --env "SSH_MCP_PASSWORD=<YOUR_SSH_MCP_PASSWORD>" --env "SSH_MCP_SUDO_PASSWORD=<YOUR_SSH_MCP_SUDO_PASSWORD>" --transport stdio ssh-mcp -- npx -y ssh-mcp
Requires: SSH_MCP_PASSPHRASE (secret), SSH_MCP_PASSWORD (secret), SSH_MCP_SUDO_PASSWORD (secret)
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of microsoft-365-agents-toolkit publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: microsoft-365-agents-toolkit · What it can do: SSH — policy-gated remote access · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/github/copilot-plugins/blob/HEAD/.github/plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.