Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

mcp-apps vs io.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server

mcp-apps is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by modelcontextprotocol. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). io.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server is an MCP server published by TemplateFoxPDF. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacemcp-appsio.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 402
Stars (GitHub): 2 943
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 402
Stars (GitHub): 2 943
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.9.7
Downloads/month (npm): 190
Downloads/week (npm): 59
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

mcp-apps vs io.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server
Factmcp-appsio.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server
Marketplaces that list it (differs)2 (better)1 (worse)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)2 943 (better)0 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)402 (better)0 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (@templatefox/mcp-server)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 1
Parts of the bundle (differs)4Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/modelcontextprotocol/ext-appsgithub.com/templatefoxpdf/mcp-server
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

mcp-apps

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-official:

Skills for creating MCP Apps with the MCP Apps SDK

io.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

MCP server for TemplateFox PDF generation API - Generate PDFs from templates via AI assistants

How to run each

mcp-apps As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin install mcp-apps@claude-plugins-official

io.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "TEMPLATEFOX_API_KEY=<YOUR_TEMPLATEFOX_API_KEY>" --transport stdio io-github-templatefoxpdf-mcp-server -- npx -y @templatefox/mcp-server

Requires: TEMPLATEFOX_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of mcp-apps publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: mcp-apps · What it can do: io.github.TemplateFoxPDF/mcp-server · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built