stackhawk-api vs io.github.middleBrick/mcp-server
stackhawk-api is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by stackhawk. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Claude: knowledge-work-plugins). io.github.middleBrick/mcp-server is an MCP server published by middleBrick. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-official | Listed Version: 2.6.0 Forks (GitHub): 3 Stars (GitHub): 16 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Claude: knowledge-work-plugins | Listed Version: 2.6.0 Forks (GitHub): 3 Stars (GitHub): 16 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 0.1.2 Downloads/month (npm): 142 Downloads/week (npm): 20 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 0 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | stackhawk-api | io.github.middleBrick/mcp-server |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 2 (better) | 1 (worse) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 16 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 3 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | On your machine (@middlebrick/mcp-server) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 1, secrets among them: 1 |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 1 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/stackhawk/agent-skills | github.com/middlebrick/mcp-server |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
stackhawk-api
Query the StackHawk platform API for security posture reporting, findings analysis, and app management. Guides agents through authentication, data retrieval, and result presentation.
io.github.middleBrick/mcp-server
Scan APIs for OWASP Top 10, LLM, and GraphQL security vulnerabilities.
How to run each
stackhawk-api As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin install stackhawk-api@claude-plugins-official
io.github.middleBrick/mcp-server As a local MCP server: npm package
claude mcp add --env "MIDDLEBRICK_API_KEY=<YOUR_MIDDLEBRICK_API_KEY>" --transport stdio io-github-middlebrick-mcp-server -- npx -y @middlebrick/mcp-server
Requires: MIDDLEBRICK_API_KEY (secret)
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of stackhawk-api publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: stackhawk-api · What it can do: io.github.middleBrick/mcp-server · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/knowledge-work-plugins/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.