pdf-forge vs Formfeed
pdf-forge is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by syx-labs. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). Formfeed is an MCP server published by formfeed-dev. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 0.3.2 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 2 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 0.3.17 Downloads/month (npm): 3 269 Downloads/week (npm): 897 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 1 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | pdf-forge | Formfeed |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 2 (better) | 1 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 1 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-12 |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | Remote server (mcp.formfeed.dev/mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 2, secrets among them: 1 |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 1 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/syx-labs/pdf-forge | github.com/formfeed-dev/formfeed |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 1 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | not checked yet |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
pdf-forge
Professional PDF generation with Tailwind CSS. Generates slide presentations (16:9) and A4 documents from any content using a complete design system — typography scales, spacing grids, color palettes, and 15 ready-to-use templates. Renders via Playwright/Chromium. Includes brand customization, anti-AI-sloppy aesthetics (zinc backbone, negative tracking, restrained accents), and an MCP server for Claude Desktop integration.
Formfeed
Render PDFs and images from templates, validate data and convert Office files to PDF.
How to run each
pdf-forge As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install pdf-forge@claude-community
Formfeed As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http formfeed https://mcp.formfeed.dev/mcp --header "Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN>"
Requires: FORMFEED_API_KEY (secret), Authorization header
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of pdf-forge publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: pdf-forge · What it can do: Formfeed · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.