Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

GitMCP vs dev-skills

GitMCP is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). dev-skills is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Andre Monteiro. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-16. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceGitMCPdev-skills
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: not stated
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Community marketplace andremonteiro95/skills Not listed Not seen in the last pass
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 1
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

GitMCP vs dev-skills
FactGitMCPdev-skills
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub1
Forks (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub0
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (gitmcp.io/docs)Installs as a plugin bundle
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPNot stated
Tools it declares (differs)5Not published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)Not a bundle2
Licence (differs)Apache-2.0MIT
Repository (differs)Not statedgithub.com/andremonteiro95/skills
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-15
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Responded 36 h agono remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

GitMCP

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

Tools for interacting with Git repositories.

dev-skills

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Developer workflow skills — PR reviews with severity-rated findings and CLAUDE.md authoring with progressive disclosure

How to run each

GitMCP As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http gitmcp https://gitmcp.io/docs

dev-skills As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add andremonteiro95/skills
/plugin install dev-skills@andremonteiro95-skills

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only GitMCP has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of dev-skills publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: GitMCP · What it can do: dev-skills · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built