Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Google Maps Comprehensive vs gmaps

Google Maps Comprehensive is an MCP server published by vicpeacock. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). gmaps is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by deusyu. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-16. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceGoogle Maps Comprehensivegmaps
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: sha256:fc37a12a21f4
Forks (GitHub): 1
Pulls (Docker Hub): 38 542
Stars (Docker Hub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 6
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Community marketplace deusyu/google-maps-skill Not listed Listed
Version: not stated
No figure published
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Google Maps Comprehensive vs gmaps
FactGoogle Maps Comprehensivegmaps
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)6No figure on GitHub
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)38 542No figure on Docker Hub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)1No figure on GitHub
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (mcp/google-maps-comprehensive)Installs as a plugin bundle
Transport (differs)stdioNot stated
Tools it declares (differs)8Not published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)1, secrets among them: 1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)Not a bundle1
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/vicpeacock/google-maps-comprehensive-mcpgithub.com/deusyu/google-maps-skill
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-15

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Google Maps Comprehensive

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

Complete Google Maps integration with 8 tools including geocoding, places search, directions, elevation data, and more using Google's latest APIs.

gmaps

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Google Maps Platform API — geocoding, reverse-geocoding, directions, places search, nearby, place detail, elevation, timezone

How to run each

Google Maps Comprehensive As a local MCP server: Docker image

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY=<YOUR_GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY>" --transport stdio google-maps-comprehensive -- docker run -i --rm -e GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY mcp/google-maps-comprehensive

Requires: GOOGLE_MAPS_API_KEY (secret)

gmaps As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add deusyu/google-maps-skill
/plugin install gmaps@google-maps-skill

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of gmaps publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of gmaps publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: Google Maps Comprehensive · What it can do: gmaps · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built