Kafka Schema Registry vs streaming-skills-plugin
Kafka Schema Registry is an MCP server published by aywengo. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). streaming-skills-plugin is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by confluentinc. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-22. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: sha256:651147289d87 Forks (GitHub): 9 Stars (GitHub): 32 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-official | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.4.0 Forks (GitHub): 11 Stars (GitHub): 59 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Kafka Schema Registry | streaming-skills-plugin |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 1 (worse) | 2 (better) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 32 (worse) | 59 (better) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 9 (worse) | 11 (better) |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-16 |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (aywengo/kafka-schema-reg-mcp:stable) | Installs as a plugin bundle |
| Transport (differs) | stdio | Not stated |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 29 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 5, secrets among them: 2 | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | Not a bundle | 11 |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/aywengo/kafka-schema-reg-mcp | github.com/confluentinc/agent-skills |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 3 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Kafka Schema Registry
Comprehensive MCP server for Kafka Schema Registry operations. Features multi-registry support, schema contexts, migration tools, OAuth authentication, and 57+ tools for complete schema management. Supports SLIM_MODE for optimal performance.
streaming-skills-plugin
Skills for streaming application developers, covering Kafka and Flink client libraries and Schema Registry
How to run each
Kafka Schema Registry As a local MCP server: Docker image
claude mcp add --env "SCHEMA_REGISTRY_PASSWORD=<YOUR_SCHEMA_REGISTRY_PASSWORD>" --env "SCHEMA_REGISTRY_USER=<YOUR_SCHEMA_REGISTRY_USER>" --transport stdio kafka-schema-reg-mcp -- docker run -i --rm -e SCHEMA_REGISTRY_PASSWORD -e SCHEMA_REGISTRY_USER aywengo/kafka-schema-reg-mcp:stable
Requires: SCHEMA_REGISTRY_PASSWORD (secret), SCHEMA_REGISTRY_USER (secret)
streaming-skills-plugin As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin install streaming-skills-plugin@claude-plugins-official
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of streaming-skills-plugin publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of streaming-skills-plugin publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: Kafka Schema Registry · What it can do: streaming-skills-plugin · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.