Markdownify vs doc.page PDF Extraction
Markdownify is an MCP server published by zcaceres. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). doc.page PDF Extraction is an MCP server published by doc.page. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: sha256:afa1ab8e1563 Forks (GitHub): 255 Pulls (Docker Hub): 72 562 Stars (Docker Hub): 2 Stars (GitHub): 2 997 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.1.0 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Markdownify | doc.page PDF Extraction |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 2 997 | No figure on GitHub |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | 72 562 | No figure on Docker Hub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 255 | No figure on GitHub |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (mcp/markdownify) | Remote server (doc.page/api/mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | stdio | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 11 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/zcaceres/markdownify-mcp | Not stated |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | Responded 39 h ago |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Markdownify
A Model Context Protocol server for converting almost anything to Markdown.
doc.page PDF Extraction
Extract PDFs to Markdown, RAG chunks and cited tables; publish tracked Doc Links with read stats.
How to run each
Markdownify As a local MCP server: Docker image
claude mcp add --transport stdio markdownify -- docker run -i --rm mcp/markdownify
doc.page PDF Extraction As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http pdf-extract https://doc.page/api/mcp --header "Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN>"
Requires: Authorization header
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only doc.page PDF Extraction has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of doc.page PDF Extraction publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: Markdownify · What it can do: doc.page PDF Extraction · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.