API Gateway vs Model Manager
API Gateway is an MCP server published by rflpazini. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). Model Manager is an MCP server published by setheerwagen. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-21. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: sha256:9cc67b4a037f Forks (GitHub): 12 Pulls (Docker Hub): 58 902 Stars (Docker Hub): 6 Stars (GitHub): 44 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.0.3 Downloads/month (PyPI): 227 Downloads/week (PyPI): 23 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 0 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | API Gateway | Model Manager |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 44 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | 58 902 | No figure on Docker Hub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 12 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-13 |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (mcp/api-gateway) | On your machine (mcp-modelmanager) |
| Transport | stdio | stdio |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 2 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 3, secrets among them: 0 | 6, secrets among them: 0 |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/rflpazini/mcp-api-gateway | github.com/setheerwagen/local-ai-mcp-servers |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
API Gateway
A universal MCP (Model Context Protocol) server to integrate any API with Claude Desktop using only Docker configurations.
Model Manager
Manage your local model machine over MCP: state, model pull/remove, service switch, LoRA training
How to run each
API Gateway As a local MCP server: Docker image
claude mcp add --transport stdio mcp-api-gateway -- docker run -i --rm mcp/api-gateway
Model Manager As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --env "MM_CONTAINER_ROOT=<YOUR_MM_CONTAINER_ROOT>" --env "MM_VM_HOST=<YOUR_MM_VM_HOST>" --env "MM_VM_USER=<YOUR_MM_VM_USER>" --transport stdio mcp-modelmanager -- uvx mcp-modelmanager
Requires: MM_CONTAINER_ROOT, MM_VM_HOST, MM_VM_USER
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of Model Manager publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
Only API Gateway asks for
API_1_HEADER_AUTHORIZATIONAPI_1_NAMEAPI_1_SWAGGER_URL
Only Model Manager asks for
MM_CONTAINER_ROOTMM_ENABLED_OPERATIONSMM_MAX_TIERMM_VM2_HOSTMM_VM_HOSTMM_VM_USER
Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.
What it can do: API Gateway · What it can do: Model Manager · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.