Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Needle Remote vs cite2fn

Needle Remote is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). cite2fn is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by anitasrinivasan. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community, Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceNeedle Remotecite2fn
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: not stated
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Not listed Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Needle Remote vs cite2fn
FactNeedle Remotecite2fn
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)2 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub0
Forks (GitHub) (differs)No figure on GitHub0
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (mcp.needle.app/mcp)Installs as a plugin bundle
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPNot stated
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)1, secrets among them: 1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)Not a bundle1
Licence (differs)Apache-2.0MIT
Repository (differs)Not statedgithub.com/anitasrinivasan/cite2fn
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)not checked yetno remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Needle Remote

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

Production-ready RAG service to search and retrieve data from your documents.

cite2fn

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

A Claude Code plugin that converts hyperlinked citations, parenthetical references, and inline author-date mentions in Word documents into properly formatted Bluebook footnotes or endnotes. Key features - Detects 5 citation patterns: external hyperlinks, internal anchor links, parentheticals, inline author-date, and existing footnotes - Handles split hyperlinks from Google Docs exports (where a single citation spans multiple XML elements) - Fetches bibliographic metadata from academic sources (arXiv, SSRN, DOI, ACM DL, and more) - Supports both footnotes and endnotes with arabic numeral numbering - Preserves author names that are grammatically part of a sentence - Tracks repeated sources for Id. and supra short forms - Adds Word comments to flag anything that needs manual attention - Removes the References section after its content has been moved to footnotes Interactive review — Claude shows you every citation before modifying the document

How to run each

Needle Remote As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http needle https://mcp.needle.app/mcp

Requires: NEEDLE_API_KEY (secret)

cite2fn As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install cite2fn@claude-community

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of cite2fn publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: Needle Remote · What it can do: cite2fn · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built