Needle Remote vs qmd
qmd is no longer listed on any marketplace we read: these are its last known data, as of 2026‑10‑21.
Needle Remote is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). qmd is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by gabrielkoerich. No marketplace we read lists it any more. As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-21. A plugin in this pair is no longer listed on any marketplace we read, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: not stated No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Community marketplace gabrielkoerich/skills | Not listed | Removed on 2026-10-21 Version: not stated Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 6 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Needle Remote | qmdno longer listed · |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 1 | 0 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 6 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 0 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server (mcp.needle.app/mcp) | Installs as a plugin bundle |
| Transport (differs) | Streamable HTTP | Not stated |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 1, secrets among them: 1 | Not published |
| Licence (differs) | Apache-2.0 | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | Not stated | github.com/gabrielkoerich/skills |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 4 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-19 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | Answered with HTTP 301 (4 days ago) | no remote endpoint we check |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. No value is marked better or worse: a plugin no marketplace lists any more is shown with its last known data, which we do not rank against current figures.
What to use instead of qmd
Plugins still listed whose own names, descriptions, tools and skills are closest in meaning to it. Comparable, not endorsed.
-
ローカル完結の Markdown 横断検索 (markdown-query) とソースコード検索 (code-query) を提供します。CLI 本体は各キットの install スクリプトで導入します。
-
Indexes your project — code, markdown, PDFs, legal text, research notes into a local SQLite file. Claude searches it before grepping. No API keys, no cloud, nothing leaves your…
-
Read-only local-first MCP server for private Markdown, PDF, and Tika-backed search on Windows.
-
Read-only local-first MCP server for private Markdown, PDF, and Tika-backed search on Windows.
-
Local read-only semantic search for Markdown vaults through MCP.
-
Section-level doc search for .md, .rst, .adoc, .ipynb, .html, .yaml, .json, and OpenAPI specs.
What each says it does
Needle Remote
Production-ready RAG service to search and retrieve data from your documents.
qmd
Fast local search for markdown files, notes, and docs using qmd CLI. Combines BM25 full-text search, vector semantic search, and LLM reranking — all running locally. No API keys needed.
How to run each
Needle Remote As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http needle https://mcp.needle.app/mcp
Requires: NEEDLE_API_KEY (secret)
qmd
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only Needle Remote has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of qmd publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: Needle Remote · What it can do: qmd · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.