Obsidian vs hands-on-deck
Obsidian is an MCP server published by MarkusPfundstein. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). hands-on-deck is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Every Consulting. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-21. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: sha256:0eba4c05742a Forks (GitHub): 506 Pulls (Docker Hub): 144 463 Stars (Docker Hub): 31 Stars (GitHub): 4 482 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Community marketplace everyinc/hands-on-deck | Not listed | Listed Version: 3.1.0 Forks (GitHub): 18 Stars (GitHub): 220 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Obsidian | hands-on-deck |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 4 482 (better) | 220 (worse) |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | 144 463 | No figure on Docker Hub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 506 (better) | 18 (worse) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (mcp/obsidian) | Installs as a plugin bundle |
| Transport (differs) | stdio | Not stated |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 12 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 2, secrets among them: 1 | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | Not a bundle | 1 |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/markuspfundstein/mcp-obsidian | github.com/everyinc/hands-on-deck |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 2 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-18 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Obsidian
MCP server that interacts with Obsidian via the Obsidian rest API community plugin.
hands-on-deck
Agent-native PowerPoint manipulation. One CLI (deck.py) lets agents inspect, edit, create, and verify .pptx files through atomic JSON patches — with self-correcting errors, deterministic geometry repair, and built-in visual verification.
How to run each
Obsidian As a local MCP server: Docker image
claude mcp add --env "OBSIDIAN_API_KEY=<YOUR_OBSIDIAN_API_KEY>" --transport stdio obsidian -- docker run -i --rm -e OBSIDIAN_API_KEY mcp/obsidian
Requires: OBSIDIAN_API_KEY (secret)
hands-on-deck As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add everyinc/hands-on-deck
/plugin install hands-on-deck@hands-on-deck
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of hands-on-deck publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of hands-on-deck publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: Obsidian · What it can do: hands-on-deck · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.