OpenMesh vs Local MCP
OpenMesh is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). Local MCP is an MCP server published by local-mcp.com. Marketplaces we read that list it: 4 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-community, npm registry (MCP servers), Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-22. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: not stated No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 3.0.421 Downloads/month (npm): 10 964 Downloads/week (npm): 1 023 Forks (GitHub): 12 Stars (GitHub): 73 Not marked · First seen |
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.1.0 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 1 Not marked · First seen |
| npm registry (MCP servers) | Not listed | Listed Version: 3.0.421 Downloads/month (npm): 10 964 Downloads/week (npm): 1 023 Forks (GitHub): 12 Stars (GitHub): 73 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | OpenMesh | Local MCP |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 1 (worse) | 4 (better) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 73 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 12 |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-14 |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server (api.openmesh.dev/mcp) | Remote server or your machine |
| Transport | Streamable HTTP | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 4 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 1, secrets among them: 0 |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | Not a bundle | 10 |
| Licence (differs) | Apache-2.0 | MIT |
| Repository (differs) | Not stated | github.com/colibird-ai/local-mcp-releases |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | Not responding since 2026-10-13 | Responded 2 days ago |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
OpenMesh
Discover and connect to a curated marketplace of MCP servers for extending AI agent capabilities.
Local MCP
Mac & Windows: let ChatGPT, Claude & Cursor use your email, calendar, iMessage, Teams, files.
How to run each
OpenMesh As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http openmesh https://api.openmesh.dev/mcp
Local MCP As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http local-mcp https://local-mcp.com/mcp
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only the endpoint of Local MCP responded at the last daily check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of Local MCP publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of OpenMesh publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: OpenMesh · What it can do: Local MCP · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Package data comes from the public npm registry (registry.npmjs.org). Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.