Semgrep vs dep-shield
dep-shield is no longer listed on any marketplace we read: these are its last known data, as of 2026‑10‑18.
Semgrep is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). dep-shield is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by barnburner121. No marketplace we read lists it any more. As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-21. A plugin in this pair is no longer listed on any marketplace we read, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: not stated No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Community marketplace barnburner121/claude-plugin-marketplace | Not listed | Removed on 2026-10-18 Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 3 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Semgrep | dep-shieldno longer listed · |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 1 | 0 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 3 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 0 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server (mcp.semgrep.ai/mcp) | On your machine (@barnburner121/plugin-hub-mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Streamable HTTP | Not stated |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 8 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | Not a bundle | 2 |
| Licence (differs) | Apache-2.0 | MIT |
| Repository (differs) | Not stated | github.com/barnburner121/claude-plugin-marketplace |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 2 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-14 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | Responded 2 days ago, requires a key | no remote endpoint we check |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. No value is marked better or worse: a plugin no marketplace lists any more is shown with its last known data, which we do not rank against current figures.
What to use instead of dep-shield
Plugins still listed whose own names, descriptions, tools and skills are closest in meaning to it. Comparable, not endorsed.
-
Scan all dependencies for outdated versions and known vulnerabilities. Uses npm audit, pip-audit, cargo audit, and bundler-audit with grep-based fallbacks. Read-only report.
-
Read-only npm dependency diagnostics for AI coding agents.
-
Evaluates packages, manages dependencies, and addresses supply chain security
-
Check an npm or Python package, or a package.json, for vulnerabilities and upkeep.
-
OSV Dependency Vulnerability Check
Check npm, PyPI, Go and Maven packages or lockfiles against OSV.dev: CVEs, CVSS, fixed versions.
-
Sonatype Guide MCP server for software supply chain intelligence and dependency security. Analyze dependencies for vulnerabilities, get secure version recommendations, and check…
What each says it does
Semgrep
MCP server for using Semgrep to scan code for security vulnerabilities.
dep-shield
Audit dependencies for vulnerabilities, check for outdated packages, scan licenses for compliance, and plan safe updates
How to run each
Semgrep As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http semgrep https://mcp.semgrep.ai/mcp
dep-shield
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only Semgrep has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of dep-shield publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: Semgrep · What it can do: dep-shield · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.