Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Semgrep vs XploitScan

Semgrep is an MCP server published by docker. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). XploitScan is an MCP server published by bgage72590. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-27. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceSemgrepXploitScan
Docker MCP Catalog Listed
Version: not stated
No figure published
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.9.2
Downloads/month (npm): 2 047
Downloads/week (npm): 223
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Semgrep vs XploitScan
FactSemgrepXploitScan
Marketplaces that list it11
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-22
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (mcp.semgrep.ai/mcp)On your machine (xploitscan-mcp)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declares (differs)8Not published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 1
Licence (differs)Apache-2.0Not stated
RepositoryNot statedNot stated
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)01
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Responded 42 h ago, requires a keyno remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Semgrep

In its own words, on Docker MCP Catalog:

MCP server for using Semgrep to scan code for security vulnerabilities.

XploitScan

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Security scanner for AI-generated code. 30 free rules; all 223 with a paid-plan API key.

How to run each

Semgrep As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http semgrep https://mcp.semgrep.ai/mcp

XploitScan As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "XPLOITSCAN_API_KEY=<YOUR_XPLOITSCAN_API_KEY>" --transport stdio xploitscan-mcp -- npx -y xploitscan-mcp

Requires: XPLOITSCAN_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only Semgrep has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of XploitScan publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of Semgrep publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: Semgrep · What it can do: XploitScan · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built