Wikipedia vs fact-checker
Wikipedia is an MCP server published by Rudra-ravi. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Docker MCP Catalog). fact-checker is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by daymade. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-20. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: sha256:32ce60811369 Forks (GitHub): 60 Pulls (Docker Hub): 186 054 Stars (Docker Hub): 10 Stars (GitHub): 299 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Community marketplace daymade/claude-code-skills | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 228 Stars (GitHub): 1 480 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Wikipedia | fact-checker |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 299 (worse) | 1 480 (better) |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | 186 054 | No figure on Docker Hub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 60 (worse) | 228 (better) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (mcp/wikipedia-mcp) | Installs as a plugin bundle |
| Transport (differs) | stdio | Not stated |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 22 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/rudra-ravi/wikipedia-mcp | github.com/daymade/claude-code-skills |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 2 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-15 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Wikipedia
A Model Context Protocol (MCP) server that retrieves information from Wikipedia to provide context to LLMs.
fact-checker
Verifies factual claims in documents using web search and official sources, then proposes corrections with user confirmation. Use when the user asks to fact-check, verify information, validate claims, check accuracy, or update outdated information in documents. Supports AI model specs, technical documentation, statistics, and general factual statements
How to run each
Wikipedia As a local MCP server: Docker image
claude mcp add --transport stdio wikipedia-mcp -- docker run -i --rm mcp/wikipedia-mcp
fact-checker As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add daymade/claude-code-skills
/plugin install fact-checker@daymade-skills
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of fact-checker publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: Wikipedia · What it can do: fact-checker · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.