Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

research vs ScholarMuse

research is no longer listed on any marketplace we read: these are its last known data, as of 2026‑10‑24.

research is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Alex Kopylov. No marketplace we read lists it any more. ScholarMuse is an MCP server published by TopLocalAI. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-29. A plugin in this pair is no longer listed on any marketplace we read, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceresearchScholarMuse
Community marketplace alex-kopylov/zweihander Removed on 2026-10-24
Version: 0.6.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 8
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

research vs ScholarMuse
Factresearchno longer listed · ScholarMuse
Marketplaces that list it (differs)01
Stars (GitHub) (differs)80
Forks (GitHub)00
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (scholarmuse.ai/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)4Not a bundle
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/alex-kopylov/zweihandergithub.com/toplocalai/scholarmuse-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)20
First seen2026-10-152026-10-15
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checkResponded 47 h ago, requires a key

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. No value is marked better or worse: a plugin no marketplace lists any more is shown with its last known data, which we do not rank against current figures.

What to use instead of research

Plugins still listed whose own names, descriptions, tools and skills are closest in meaning to it. Comparable, not endorsed.

  • claude-scholar

    Semi-automated research assistant with skills for literature review, experiments, analysis, writing, and project knowledge management

    by Galaxy-Dawn · Plugin bundle

    Listed on: Community GitHub marketplaces · Describes nearly the same job

  • academic-research

    Academic research toolkit — literature survey, paper reviewing, citation management, and more.

    by jeandiable · Plugin bundle

    Listed on: Community GitHub marketplaces · Describes nearly the same job

  • Academic Research Intelligence MCP

    Academic paper search, scientific literature, citation analysis, arXiv & semantic related-work.

    by FoundryNet · MCP server

    Listed on: Official MCP Registry · Describes nearly the same job

  • research-papers

    Annotated research paper collection management — retrieve, read, extract, cross-reference scientific papers

    by Q · Plugin bundle

    Listed on: Community GitHub marketplaces · Describes nearly the same job

  • literature-review-toolkit

    Drive an LLM agent through a structured academic literature review — search, verify, canonicalize references, count citations, cross-reference, and assemble an annotated…

    by Jack L. Gallant · Plugin bundle

    Listed on: Community GitHub marketplaces · Describes nearly the same job

  • paper-to-course

    A powerful AI skill for learning research paper

    by KaguraTart · Plugin bundle

    Listed on: Claude Code: claude-plugins-community · Describes nearly the same job

Its card, with similar plugins by marketplace

What each says it does

research

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Research workflows: arXiv paper search, grounded citations with a verifiable source ledger, an LLM-maintained Markdown wiki, and Obsidian vault notes.

ScholarMuse

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Academic papers, reference verification and research data for AI agents.

How to run each

research

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

ScholarMuse As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http scholarmuse https://scholarmuse.ai/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only ScholarMuse has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: research · What it can do: ScholarMuse · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built