amem vs MemoCat — Shared AI Memory
amem is no longer listed on any marketplace we read: these are its last known data, as of 2026‑10‑17.
amem is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Aman Asmuei. No marketplace we read lists it any more. MemoCat — Shared AI Memory is an MCP server published by MontyGovernance. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-21. A plugin in this pair is no longer listed on any marketplace we read, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Community marketplace amanasmuei/amem | Removed on 2026-10-17 Version: 0.15.0 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 2 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 0.4.3 Downloads/month (PyPI): 1 030 Downloads/week (PyPI): 54 Forks (GitHub): 4 Stars (GitHub): 28 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | amemno longer listed · | MemoCat — Shared AI Memory |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 0 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 2 | 28 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 1 | 4 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (@aman_asmuei/amem) | On your machine (memocat-mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 2, secrets among them: 1 |
| Hooks it runs (differs) | 3 | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 9 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/amanasmuei/amem | github.com/montygovernance/memocat-mcp |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 2 | 0 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. No value is marked better or worse: a plugin no marketplace lists any more is shown with its last known data, which we do not rank against current figures.
What to use instead of amem
Plugins still listed whose own names, descriptions, tools and skills are closest in meaning to it. Comparable, not endorsed.
-
engram io.github.tstockham96/engram
Intelligent agent memory with automatic extraction, consolidation, and bi-temporal recall.
-
Graph-native persistent memory for AI agents — 33 MCP tools, zero-LLM writes.
-
Cross-session memory for AI coding agents via six tools; local-first SQLite store.
-
Persistent memory for Claude Code with hot cache instant recall and semantic search. Give your AI assistant a second brain.
-
total-recall io.github.Avi-Bendetsky/total-recall
Persistent, verified, cross-session memory for AI agents. 26 tools. SQLite + sync.
-
Persistent memory for AI tools. Local-first knowledge graph with hybrid search.
What each says it does
amem
Persistent memory layer for AI — typed, scored, temporal, searchable. 28 tools, knowledge graph, privacy controls.
MemoCat — Shared AI Memory
One shared, persistent memory across AI agents and systems, with semantic recall and live updates.
How to run each
amem
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
MemoCat — Shared AI Memory As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --env "MONTYCAT_URI=<YOUR_MONTYCAT_URI>" --transport stdio memocat-mcp -- uvx memocat-mcp
Requires: MONTYCAT_URI (secret)
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of amem publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: amem · What it can do: MemoCat — Shared AI Memory · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.