Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

credit-memo vs EdgarTools

credit-memo is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by anthropic-plugin. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). EdgarTools is an MCP server published by dgunning. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-15. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacecredit-memoEdgarTools
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 5.62.0
Downloads/month (PyPI): 842 132
Downloads/week (PyPI): 246 142
Forks (GitHub): 509
Stars (GitHub): 2 791
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

credit-memo vs EdgarTools
Factcredit-memoEdgarTools
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)2 791 (better)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)509 (better)
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-12
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (edgartools)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 0
Parts of the bundle (differs)20Not a bundle
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/anthropic-plugin/credit-memo-plugingithub.com/dgunning/edgartools
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)01
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

credit-memo

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Generate institutional-grade Credit Memorandums in minutes. Automatically collects 3–5 years of financial data from SEC EDGAR, SerpApi, and major rating agencies. Outputs branded Word, PDF, and PowerPoint with 10 embedded charts, inline citations, and a 5-layer compliance guardrails system. Supports public and private companies.

EdgarTools

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Open-source SEC EDGAR toolkit — 13 tools, 7 prompts, every filing type. No API key required.

How to run each

credit-memo As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install credit-memo@claude-community

EdgarTools As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "EDGAR_IDENTITY=<YOUR_EDGAR_IDENTITY>" --transport stdio edgartools -- uvx --with "edgartools[ai]==5.62.0" edgartools mcp

Requires: EDGAR_IDENTITY

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of credit-memo publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: credit-memo · What it can do: EdgarTools · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built