Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

imessage vs Proton Safe MCP

imessage is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by anthropics. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official). Proton Safe MCP is an MCP server published by fbossiere. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-26. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceimessageProton Safe MCP
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Listed
Version: 0.2.0
Forks (GitHub): 4 658
Stars (GitHub): 44 447
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 2.3.1
Downloads/month (PyPI): 1 085
Downloads/week (PyPI): 243
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 6
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

imessage vs Proton Safe MCP
FactimessageProton Safe MCP
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)44 447 (better)6 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)4 658 (better)0 (worse)
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-14
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (proton-safe-mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published2, secrets among them: 0
Parts of the bundle (differs)3Not a bundle
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-officialgithub.com/fbossiere/proton-safe-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

imessage

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-official:

iMessage messaging bridge with built-in access control. Reads chat.db directly, sends via AppleScript. Manage pairing, allowlists, and policy via /imessage:access.

Proton Safe MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Read Proton Mail, extract bounded attachment text, and create explicitly confirmed drafts.

How to run each

imessage As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin install imessage@claude-plugins-official

Proton Safe MCP As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "PROTON_BRIDGE_USER=<YOUR_PROTON_BRIDGE_USER>" --transport stdio proton-safe-mcp -- uvx proton-safe-mcp serve

Requires: PROTON_BRIDGE_USER

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of imessage publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: imessage · What it can do: Proton Safe MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built