Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

claude-security vs Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner

claude-security is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Anthropic. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official). Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner is an MCP server published by AnshumanAtrey. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-25. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceclaude-securityGitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Listed
Version: 0.12.0
Forks (GitHub): 4 658
Stars (GitHub): 44 447
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.17.3
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 2
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

claude-security vs Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner
Factclaude-securityGitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)44 447 (better)2 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)4 658 (better)1 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (mcp.apify.com)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Hooks it runs (differs)6Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)14Not a bundle
Licence (differs)SEE LICENSE IN LICENSENot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-officialgithub.com/anshumanatrey/gitleaks-github-secret-scanner
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checkNot responding since 2026-10-24

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

claude-security

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-official:

Deep vulnerability scanning of your own code, run entirely inside your Claude Code session at a chosen effort tier, with every finding challenged before it is reported and the verification tally computed in code. Turns surviving findings into targeted patches, each verified by a panel of agents, that you apply when you choose.

Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner

How to run each

claude-security As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin install claude-security@claude-plugins-official

Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

Requires: Authorization header

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: claude-security · What it can do: Gitleaks Cloud - GitHub API Key Hunter & Secret Scanner · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built