Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

plugin-dev vs io.github.OtaKit/otakit

plugin-dev is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Anthropic. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official). io.github.OtaKit/otakit is an MCP server published by OtaKit. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Official MCP Registry, Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-27. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceplugin-devio.github.OtaKit/otakit
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Listed
Version: not stated
Forks (GitHub): 4 673
Stars (GitHub): 44 708
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.10.0
Downloads/month (npm): 6 997
Downloads/week (npm): 1 493
Forks (GitHub): 2
Stars (GitHub): 47
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

plugin-dev vs io.github.OtaKit/otakit
Factplugin-devio.github.OtaKit/otakit
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)2 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)44 708 (better)47 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)4 673 (better)2 (worse)
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-22
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server or your machine
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)112
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-officialgithub.com/otakit/otakit
Changes in the last 7 days11
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checkResponded 3 days ago

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

plugin-dev

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-official:

Comprehensive toolkit for developing Claude Code plugins. Includes 7 expert skills covering hooks, MCP integration, commands, agents, and best practices. AI-assisted plugin creation and validation.

io.github.OtaKit/otakit

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Inspect, upload, release, monitor, and revert OtaKit Capacitor OTA updates.

How to run each

plugin-dev As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin install plugin-dev@claude-plugins-official

io.github.OtaKit/otakit As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http otakit https://console.otakit.app/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only io.github.OtaKit/otakit has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: plugin-dev · What it can do: io.github.OtaKit/otakit · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built