Forge Dev Stack vs remote-dev
Forge Dev Stack is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Springthrough. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). remote-dev is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Bryan Li. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Community marketplace brutalsystems/forge | Not seen in the last pass Version: 0.1.0 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 1 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Community marketplace btli/remote-dev | Not listed | Not seen in the last pass Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 0 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | Forge Dev Stack | remote-dev |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 1 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 1 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs | Installs as a plugin bundle | Installs as a plugin bundle |
| Transport | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Hooks it runs (differs) | Not published | 8 |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 3 | 9 |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/brutalsystems/forge | github.com/btli/remote-dev |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 2 | 2 |
| First seen | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-14 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
Forge Dev Stack
Set up, diagnose, and operate forge-orchestrated multi-repo dev stacks on macOS, Linux, and Windows
remote-dev
CLI tools for Remote Dev - manage terminal sessions, worktrees, and AI agents
How to run each
Forge Dev Stack As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add brutalsystems/forge
/plugin install forge-dev@forge
remote-dev As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add btli/remote-dev
/plugin install remote-dev@remote-dev
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: Forge Dev Stack · What it can do: remote-dev · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.