Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

obsidian-sync vs Zotero MCP

obsidian-sync is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by chenlei1700. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). Zotero MCP is an MCP server published by 54yyyu. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Official MCP Registry, PyPI (MCP servers)). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-30. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceobsidian-syncZotero MCP
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.15.1
Downloads/month (PyPI): 20 314
Downloads/week (PyPI): 7 107
Forks (GitHub): 451
Stars (GitHub): 5 636
Not marked · First seen
PyPI (MCP servers) Not listed Listed
Version: 0.15.1
Downloads/month (PyPI): 20 314
Downloads/week (PyPI): 7 107
Forks (GitHub): 451
Stars (GitHub): 5 636
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

obsidian-sync vs Zotero MCP
Factobsidian-syncZotero MCP
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)2 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)5 636 (better)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)451 (better)
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-16
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (zotero-mcp-server)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published5, secrets among them: 1
Parts of the bundle (differs)2Not a bundle
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT AND AGPL-3.0-or-later
Repository (differs)github.com/chenlei1700/obsidian-syncgithub.com/54yyyu/zotero-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

obsidian-sync

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

A Claude Code plugin that syncs project documentation to your Obsidian vault — one command, zero config. The Problem: You clone repos. Each has scattered documentation — .md files, .pdf references — buried in nested directories. You want to read and search them in one place, but they live across dozens of project folders. obsidian-sync moves all project documentation into your Obsidian vault with a single command, keeping them browsable both in Obsidian and in the original project.

Zotero MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Search, read, annotate, and add to your Zotero research library, local or web.

How to run each

obsidian-sync As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install obsidian-sync@claude-community

Zotero MCP As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "ZOTERO_API_KEY=<YOUR_ZOTERO_API_KEY>" --transport stdio zotero-mcp -- uvx zotero-mcp-server serve

Requires: ZOTERO_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of obsidian-sync publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: obsidian-sync · What it can do: Zotero MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Package data comes from the Python Package Index (pypi.org). Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built