llm-wiki-skill vs gknowledge
llm-wiki-skill is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by cosen1024. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). gknowledge is an MCP server published by openapi. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-17. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Community marketplace cosen1024/llm-wiki-skill | Listed Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 5 Stars (GitHub): 13 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 0.2.2 Forks (GitHub): 3 Stars (GitHub): 18 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | llm-wiki-skill | gknowledge |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 13 (worse) | 18 (better) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 5 (better) | 3 (worse) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | On your machine (gknowledge-mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/cosen1024/llm-wiki-skill | github.com/openapi/gknowledge |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 2 | 2 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-15 | 2026-10-16 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
llm-wiki-skill
Build and maintain LLM-powered personal knowledge bases using the Karpathy Wiki pattern.
gknowledge
Search, read and grow a Karpathy-style LLM wiki of linked Markdown pages, with cited answers.
How to run each
llm-wiki-skill As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add cosen1024/llm-wiki-skill
/plugin install llm-wiki-skill@llm-wiki-skill
gknowledge As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --transport stdio gknowledge -- uvx gknowledge-mcp --init "<YOUR_PROJECT_FOLDER>"
Requires: <project_folder>
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: llm-wiki-skill · What it can do: gknowledge · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.