Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

Marketplace Guide — start here vs AI Tools Directory

Marketplace Guide — start here is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by danielrosehill. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). AI Tools Directory is an MCP server published by toolboxes.top. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-28. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceMarketplace Guide — start hereAI Tools Directory
Community marketplace danielrosehill/claude-code-plugins Listed
Version: 0.1.1
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

Marketplace Guide — start here vs AI Tools Directory
FactMarketplace Guide — start hereAI Tools Directory
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub)00
Forks (GitHub)00
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (ai-tools-mcp.toolboxes.top/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)4Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/danielrosehill/claude-marketplace-guide-plugingithub.com/renhongtao2-cell/ai-tools-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)20
First seen (differs)2026-10-222026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checkResponded 3 days ago

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

Marketplace Guide — start here

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Start here: browse these plugins by theme, find one for a task, see what's new. Reads the live manifest.

AI Tools Directory

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Curated index of 221 AI tools across 21 industries. Search by use case, department or pricing tier.

How to run each

Marketplace Guide — start here As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add danielrosehill/claude-code-plugins
/plugin install marketplace-guide@danielrosehill

AI Tools Directory As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http ai-tools-directory https://ai-tools-mcp.toolboxes.top/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only AI Tools Directory has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: Marketplace Guide — start here · What it can do: AI Tools Directory · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built