Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

claude-xcindex vs Codeix

claude-xcindex is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by drewalth. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). Codeix is an MCP server published by montanetech. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-15. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceclaude-xcindexCodeix
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 1.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 1
Stars (GitHub): 3
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.5.0
Downloads/month (npm): 179
Downloads/week (npm): 45
Forks (GitHub): 3
Stars (GitHub): 9
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

claude-xcindex vs Codeix
Factclaude-xcindexCodeix
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)3 (worse)9 (better)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)1 (worse)3 (better)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (codeix)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Hooks it runs (differs)3Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)11Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/drewalth/claude-xcindexgithub.com/montanetech/codeix
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

claude-xcindex

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

An MCP bridge to Xcode's SourceKit symbol index for Claude Code. Provides sub-millisecond semantic Swift/ObjC symbol lookups — find references, definitions, overrides, conformances, and blast radius without grep or reading full files.

Codeix

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Fast semantic code search for AI agents — find symbols, references, and callers across any codebase

How to run each

claude-xcindex As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install claude-xcindex@claude-community

Codeix As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio codeix -- npx -y codeix

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: claude-xcindex · What it can do: Codeix · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built