exa vs Mekler AI
exa is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by exa-labs. Marketplaces we read that list it: 4 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Official MCP Registry, Docker MCP Catalog, Claude: knowledge-work-plugins). Mekler AI is an MCP server published by mekler.ai. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-11-05. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-official | Listed Version: 3.4.1 Forks (GitHub): 409 Stars (GitHub): 5 212 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Listed Version: 3.4.1 Forks (GitHub): 409 Stars (GitHub): 5 212 Not marked · First seen |
Listed Version: 0.1.14 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
| Docker MCP Catalog | Listed Version: sha256:d88edd571d98 Forks (GitHub): 409 Pulls (Docker Hub): 37 607 Stars (Docker Hub): 7 Stars (GitHub): 5 212 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Claude: knowledge-work-plugins | Listed Version: 3.4.1 Forks (GitHub): 409 Stars (GitHub): 5 212 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | exa | Mekler AI |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 4 (better) | 1 (worse) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 5 212 | No figure on GitHub |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | 37 607 | No figure on Docker Hub |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 409 | No figure on GitHub |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-30 |
| Where it runs (differs) | Remote server or your machine | Remote server (api.mekler.ai/mcp) |
| Transport (differs) | Streamable HTTP, stdio | Streamable HTTP |
| Tools it declares (differs) | 2 | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | 1, secrets among them: 1 | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 3 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/exa-labs/exa-mcp-server | Not stated |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 1 |
| First seen | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | Status out of date: last check 6 days ago returned HTTP 405 | Responded 25 h ago |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
exa
Exa AI web search, deep research, and content extraction. Provides MCP tools and research skills for comprehensive web search, people discovery, company research, academic papers, and more.
Mekler AI
Research, inference, data/web/email tools, and x402 conformance, service catalog and grade feeds.
How to run each
exa As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin install exa@claude-plugins-official
Mekler AI As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http agent-discovery https://api.mekler.ai/mcp
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Both endpoints responded at the last daily check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
Only exa has
web_fetch_exaweb_search_exa
Only Mekler AI has
confirm_ownership_proofexport_listingsget_scan_reportget_scan_statusget_serviceget_trial_accessget_trial_offerlist_conformance_checkslist_grade_changesreferral_accept_termsreferral_acknowledgereferral_notices
Show the remaining 12
referral_programreferral_receiptsreferral_registerreferral_rotatereferral_statusretrieve_listingrotate_trialscan_originsearch_listingssearch_servicesstart_ownership_proofupdate_listing_preferences
Both have
None
Tool names as the marketplaces declare them and as Ext Ops observed them on the endpoints (Mekler AI as of 2026-10-20). More tools is not better in itself: compare what each needs for the job.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of Mekler AI publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: exa · What it can do: Mekler AI · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/knowledge-work-plugins/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.