Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

data-agent-kit-starter-pack vs io.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server

data-agent-kit-starter-pack is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by gemini-cli-extensions. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). io.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server is an MCP server published by mongodb-js. Marketplaces we read that list it: 5 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Docker MCP Catalog, Claude Code: claude-plugins-community, Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-15. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacedata-agent-kit-starter-packio.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.8.0
Forks (GitHub): 69
Stars (GitHub): 220
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 1.2.0
Forks (GitHub): 41
Stars (GitHub): 189
Not marked · First seen
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 2.1.0
Downloads/month (npm): 503 570
Downloads/week (npm): 100 749
Forks (GitHub): 296
Stars (GitHub): 1 142
Not marked · First seen
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Not listed Listed
Version: 1.2.1
Forks (GitHub): 41
Stars (GitHub): 189
Not marked · First seen
Docker MCP Catalog Not listed Listed
Version: sha256:6ab64d0ba27f
Forks (GitHub): 296
Pulls (Docker Hub): 155 904
Stars (Docker Hub): 11
Stars (GitHub): 1 142
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

data-agent-kit-starter-pack vs io.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server
Factdata-agent-kit-starter-packio.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)5 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)220 (worse)1 142 (better)
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)No figure on Docker Hub155 904
Forks (GitHub) (differs)69 (worse)296 (better)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (mongodb-mcp-server)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declares (differs)Not published25
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published42, secrets among them: 4
Hooks it runs (differs)1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)279
Licence (differs)Not statedApache-2.0
Repository (differs)github.com/gemini-cli-extensions/data-agent-kit-starter-packgithub.com/mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

data-agent-kit-starter-pack

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

This plugin provides a specialized suite of skills for data engineers and database practitioners working on Google Cloud. It acts as an expert assistant, allowing you to use natural language prompts in your preferred coding agent to architect complex data pipelines, transform data with dbt, write Spark and BigQuery SQL notebooks, and orchestrate end-to-end workflows across GCP's data ecosystem.

io.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

MongoDB Model Context Protocol Server

How to run each

data-agent-kit-starter-pack As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install data-agent-kit-starter-pack@claude-community

io.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "MDB_MCP_API_CLIENT_ID=<YOUR_MDB_MCP_API_CLIENT_ID>" --env "MDB_MCP_API_CLIENT_SECRET=<YOUR_MDB_MCP_API_CLIENT_SECRET>" --env "MDB_MCP_CONNECTION_STRING=<YOUR_MDB_MCP_CONNECTION_STRING>" --env "MDB_MCP_VOYAGE_API_KEY=<YOUR_MDB_MCP_VOYAGE_API_KEY>" --transport stdio mongodb-mcp-server -- npx -y mongodb-mcp-server

Requires: MDB_MCP_API_CLIENT_ID (secret), MDB_MCP_API_CLIENT_SECRET (secret), MDB_MCP_CONNECTION_STRING (secret), MDB_MCP_VOYAGE_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of data-agent-kit-starter-pack publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of data-agent-kit-starter-pack publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: data-agent-kit-starter-pack · What it can do: io.github.mongodb-js/mongodb-mcp-server · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built