vibekanban vs GitHub
vibekanban is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by hoarchi. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). GitHub is an MCP server published by github. Marketplaces we read that list it: 2 (Official MCP Registry, Docker MCP Catalog). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 520e6e3 No figure published Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 2.0.2 Forks (GitHub): 5 140 Stars (GitHub): 33 584 Not marked · First seen |
| Docker MCP Catalog | Not listed | Listed Version: sha256:ffced0d76e77 Forks (GitHub): 5 140 Stars (GitHub): 33 584 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | vibekanban | GitHub |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 1 (worse) | 2 (better) |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 33 584 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | No figure on GitHub | 5 140 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | Remote server or your machine |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | Streamable HTTP, stdio |
| Tools it declares (differs) | Not published | 40 |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 1, secrets among them: 1 |
| Licence (differs) | Not stated | MIT |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/hoarchi/vibekanban | github.com/github/github-mcp-server |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-12 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | not checked yet |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
vibekanban
VibeKanban is a dev progress kanban board that runs entirely inside Claude Code. When you code with Claude, every task is automatically tracked — started, completed, and reported — on a local kanban board with a browser-based UI. No cloud service, no sign-up, no npm install. Just a Python server on localhost and a single HTML file. Claude creates tasks when you ask for work, moves them through columns as progress happens, records git diff stats on completion, and writes work reports you can review later in the web UI. Multi-project support lets you manage several codebases from one board. Switch between projects with tabs, drag cards between columns, and view completed work grouped by date, category, or development phase.
GitHub
Connect AI assistants to GitHub - manage repos, issues, PRs, and workflows through natural language.
How to run each
vibekanban As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install vibekanban@claude-community
GitHub As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http github-mcp-server https://api.githubcopilot.com/mcp/ --header "Authorization: Bearer <YOUR_TOKEN>"
Requires: Authorization header
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of vibekanban publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of vibekanban publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: vibekanban · What it can do: GitHub · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.