Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

@taskadence/mcp vs MCP Sidecar

@taskadence/mcp is an MCP server published by @taskadence. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (npm registry (MCP servers)). MCP Sidecar is an MCP server published by lsequeiraa. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-11-07. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplace@taskadence/mcpMCP Sidecar
npm registry (MCP servers) Listed
Version: 2.0.0
Downloads/month (npm): 491
Downloads/week (npm): 200
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.3.2
Downloads/month (npm): 138
Downloads/week (npm): 67
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

@taskadence/mcp vs MCP Sidecar
Fact@taskadence/mcpMCP Sidecar
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub)00
Forks (GitHub)00
Last release (differs)2026-10-28Not published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (@taskadence/mcp)On your machine (mcp-sidecar)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published8, secrets among them: 0
Licence (differs)Apache-2.0Not stated
Repository (differs)github.com/indrasol/taskadence-pythongithub.com/lsequeiraa/mcp-sidecar
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen (differs)2026-10-122026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

@taskadence/mcp

In its own words, on npm registry (MCP servers):

The TasKadence MCP server for clients that start a local process: a stdio proxy to the remote server (npx -y @taskadence/mcp).

MCP Sidecar

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Cross-platform MCP server for managing long-lived background processes from any MCP client

How to run each

@taskadence/mcp

No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.

MCP Sidecar As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio mcp-sidecar -- npx -y mcp-sidecar

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of @taskadence/mcp publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: @taskadence/mcp · What it can do: MCP Sidecar · Compare two other plugins

Package data comes from the public npm registry (registry.npmjs.org). Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built