Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

SkillRoute by JEStats vs mcp-skill-search

SkillRoute by JEStats is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by JEStats. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). mcp-skill-search is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by PettHa. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-24. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
MarketplaceSkillRoute by JEStatsmcp-skill-search
Community marketplace jestatsio/skillroute Listed
Version: 0.6.0
Forks (GitHub): 3
Stars (GitHub): 42
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 1
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

SkillRoute by JEStats vs mcp-skill-search
FactSkillRoute by JEStatsmcp-skill-search
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)42 (better)1 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)3 (better)0 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)On your machine (@skillroute/mcp-server)Installs as a plugin bundle
TransportNot statedNot stated
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle22
LicenceMITMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/jestatsio/skillroutegithub.com/pettha/mcp-skill-search
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)20
First seen (differs)2026-10-232026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

SkillRoute by JEStats

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Find the right skills for your next task. SkillRoute indexes your local SKILL.md library and returns ranked matches with confidence, reasons, and source evidence.

mcp-skill-search

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

A "ToolSearch for skills" — searches your SKILL.md files by keyword, exact name, or required-term filter so the model can fetch full skill descriptions on demand. Mirrors Claude Code's internal ToolSearch scoring algorithm 1:1, but for skills instead of MCP tools. Pairs with two bundled slash-commands: /optimize-skill-context sets SLASH_COMMAND_TOOL_CHAR_BUDGET=1 to free Claude Code's ~1% skill-description budget (forcing names-only mode), and /restore-skill-descriptions reverses it. Slash-commands keep working; descriptions are fetched on demand via skill_search when relevant. Repo-aware: skills under the current git-root's .claude/skills/ get a +5 score boost over same-named skills from other repos, so search ranking respects which project you're working in.

How to run each

SkillRoute by JEStats As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add jestatsio/skillroute
/plugin install skillroute@skillroute-marketplace

mcp-skill-search As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install mcp-skill-search@claude-community

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: SkillRoute by JEStats · What it can do: mcp-skill-search · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built