motion vs Glif
motion is no longer listed on any marketplace we read: these are its last known data, as of 2026‑10‑26.
motion is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Jongwon Choi. No marketplace we read lists it any more. Glif is an MCP server published by glif.app. Marketplaces we read that list it: 3 (Official MCP Registry, Docker MCP Catalog, Community GitHub marketplaces). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-26. A plugin in this pair is no longer listed on any marketplace we read, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Community marketplace jongwony/cc-plugin | Removed on 2026-10-26 Version: 0.15.1 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 11 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 1.0.1 Forks (GitHub): 32 Stars (GitHub): 216 Not marked · First seen |
| Docker MCP Catalog | Not listed | Listed Version: sha256:3f93ddceeb99 Forks (GitHub): 32 Pulls (Docker Hub): 19 993 Stars (Docker Hub): 2 Stars (GitHub): 216 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | motionno longer listed · | Glif |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it (differs) | 0 | 3 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 11 | 216 |
| Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs) | No figure on Docker Hub | 19 993 |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 0 | 32 |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | Remote server or your machine |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | Streamable HTTP, stdio |
| Tools it declares (differs) | Not published | 10 |
| Environment variables it asks for (differs) | Not published | 3, secrets among them: 1 |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 1 | 11 |
| Licence (differs) | Not stated | MIT |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/jongwony/cc-plugin | github.com/glifxyz/glif-mcp-server |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 4 | 0 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-23 | 2026-10-11 |
| Endpoint at the last check (differs) | no remote endpoint we check | Responded 3 days ago |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. No value is marked better or worse: a plugin no marketplace lists any more is shown with its last known data, which we do not rank against current figures.
What to use instead of motion
Plugins still listed whose own names, descriptions, tools and skills are closest in meaning to it. Comparable, not endorsed.
-
Five skills: generative-media-director, motion-director, remotion-video-agent, site-motion-excellence-director, web-motion-auditor.
-
Make motion-graphics videos with Claude and plain JavaScript, no video generator: every frame is a pure function of time, Playwright renders it in headless Chromium, FFmpeg…
-
Code-rendered motion videos up to 20 minutes: showreels, product films, UI motion, kinetic type, logo stings and narrated explainers. Independent music/SFX sources, Gemini/MiniMax…
-
Local video studio for your coding agent: scenes, voice, music and captions, on your machine.
-
Make animated videos by asking Claude, Cursor or any MCP client. Your AI writes it, we render it.
-
Remotion video creation skills — best practices, animations, audio, captions, 3D, and more for building programmatic videos with React.
What each says it does
motion
Turn a vague wish for a motion-graphics video into a rendered mp4: /elicit surfaces the decisions it turns on in newcomer terms, /sketch or /preview where a look or direction must be seen to be judged, then the mp4 is rendered and shown to approve or change (/motion)
Glif
Generate images, video, and audio with Glif's media-generation agent
How to run each
motion
No data for an automatic command: what its marketplaces declare does not say unambiguously how to connect it.
Glif As a remote MCP server
claude mcp add --transport http glif https://glif.app/api/mcp
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Only Glif has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints
Tools each declares
The marketplaces of motion publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.
Settings each asks for
The marketplaces of motion publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.
What it can do: motion · What it can do: Glif · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.