ember-memory vs cogito-mem (Cogi)
ember-memory is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by KindledFlameStudios. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). cogito-mem (Cogi) is an MCP server published by meridian21lab. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-24. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 2.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 2 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 0.2.1 Forks (GitHub): 0 Stars (GitHub): 0 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | ember-memory | cogito-mem (Cogi) |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 2 (better) | 0 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) | 0 | 0 |
| Last release (differs) | Not published | 2026-10-21 |
| Where it runs (differs) | Installs as a plugin bundle | On your machine (cogito-mem) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | 1, secrets among them: 0 | 1, secrets among them: 0 |
| Hooks it runs (differs) | 1 | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 2 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/kindledflamestudios/ember-memory | github.com/meridian21lab/cogito-mem |
| Changes in the last 7 days (differs) | 0 | 4 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-11 | 2026-10-20 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
ember-memory
Persistent semantic memory for Claude Code. Stores knowledge in a local ChromaDB vector database and automatically retrieves relevant context on every message using Ollama bge-m3 embeddings. Everything runs locally — no API keys, no cloud, no data leaving your machine.
cogito-mem (Cogi)
Local long-term memory for Claude Code and other agents: every message kept word for word, no cloud.
How to run each
ember-memory As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install ember-memory@claude-community
cogito-mem (Cogi) As a local MCP server: PyPI package
claude mcp add --transport stdio cogito-mem -- uvx cogito-mem mcp
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Only ember-memory asks for
EMBER_AI_ID
Only cogito-mem (Cogi) asks for
COGITO_MEM_NAMESPACE
Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.
What it can do: ember-memory · What it can do: cogito-mem (Cogi) · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.