Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

claude-cast vs youtube-kit

claude-cast is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by kvreem. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). youtube-kit is an MCP server published by eukosh. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-22. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceclaude-castyoutube-kit
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 7
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.7.1
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 2
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

claude-cast vs youtube-kit
Factclaude-castyoutube-kit
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)7 (better)2 (worse)
Forks (GitHub)00
Last release (differs)Not published2026-10-21
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (youtube-kit)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)1, secrets among them: 02, secrets among them: 1
Hooks it runs (differs)1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)5Not a bundle
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/kvreem/claude-castgithub.com/eukosh/youtube-kit
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)05
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-18

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

claude-cast

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Stream Twitch, YouTube, and Kick live streams alongside your Claude Code sessions. Audio plays via mpv, live chat scrolls in a neo-blessed TUI side pane with colored usernames and badges, and an animated waveform visualizer shows playback status. Three layout modes (compact, rich, minimal), full slash command control (/claude-cast pause, mute, volume, stop), and keyboard shortcuts for hands-free control. Twitch chat works zero-config, YouTube and Kick supported out of the box. Runs in a tmux split pane so your coding workflow stays uninterrupted.

youtube-kit

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

YouTube CLI and MCP server: search and read public YouTube, and manage your own channels.

How to run each

claude-cast As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install claude-cast@claude-community

youtube-kit As a local MCP server: PyPI package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "YOUTUBE_API_KEY=<YOUR_YOUTUBE_API_KEY>" --transport stdio youtube-kit -- uvx youtube-kit mcp

Requires: YOUTUBE_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Only claude-cast asks for

  • CLAUDE_CAST_ROOT

Only youtube-kit asks for

  • YOUTUBE_API_KEY (secret)
  • YOUTUBE_CHANNEL

Settings as each marketplace publishes them. Asking for fewer is not better in itself.

What it can do: claude-cast · What it can do: youtube-kit · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built