Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

paper-review-system vs ScholarMuse

paper-review-system is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by lidapengpeng. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). ScholarMuse is an MCP server published by TopLocalAI. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-17. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacepaper-review-systemScholarMuse
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 2.2.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 2
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 0
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

paper-review-system vs ScholarMuse
Factpaper-review-systemScholarMuse
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)2 (better)0 (worse)
Forks (GitHub)00
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (scholarmuse.ai/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)2, secrets among them: 1Not published
Hooks it runs (differs)1Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)11Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/lidapengpeng/paper-review-systemgithub.com/toplocalai/scholarmuse-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)02
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-15
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checknot checked yet

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

paper-review-system

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Automated academic paper review system for Claude Code. Integrates PDF parsing (marker-pdf + PyMuPDF), reference verification (CrossRef + DBLP + Semantic Scholar), SOTA comparison, and competitive paper analysis within a structured multi-phase review pipeline. Features venue-adaptive review strategies for 15+ top CS conferences (CVPR, NeurIPS, ICML, ICLR, ECCV, ICCV, ACL, AAAI, KDD, MICCAI, etc.), powered by distilled methodologies from 10 senior conference reviewers. Includes 8-dimension scoring, statistical rigor checks, automated quick assessment, rebuttal assistance, and parallel agent-based review architecture. Components: 3 commands (/review-paper, /pre-screen, /rebuttal), 4 specialized agents, 1 skill with 5 reference files, 2 MCP servers (11 tools total), automated dependency checking, and a quick assessment script.

ScholarMuse

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Academic papers, reference verification and research data for AI agents.

How to run each

paper-review-system As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install paper-review-system@claude-community

ScholarMuse As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http scholarmuse https://scholarmuse.ai/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of ScholarMuse publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: paper-review-system · What it can do: ScholarMuse · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built