Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

prompt-smith vs PromptBranch

prompt-smith is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by maxencemeloni. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). PromptBranch is an MCP server published by PromptBranch. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-18. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceprompt-smithPromptBranch
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 1.2.2
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 1
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.2.6
Downloads/month (npm): 643
Downloads/week (npm): 54
Forks (GitHub): 2
Stars (GitHub): 9
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

prompt-smith vs PromptBranch
Factprompt-smithPromptBranch
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)1 (worse)9 (better)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0 (worse)2 (better)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (@promptbranch/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)1Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/maxencemeloni/claude-code-prompt-smithgithub.com/promptbranch/promptbranch
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

prompt-smith

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Prompt Smith adds the /prompt slash command to Claude Code. It takes a rough prompt and rewrites it for clarity, structure, and precision — then shows a side-by-side preview before execution. Four optimization modes (default, agentic, compact, strict) adapt the rewrite to the prompt's intent. Supports --dry-run for preview-only, --yes to skip confirmation, and --mode to select explicitly. Fidelity first: the optimized prompt always preserves the user's exact intent.

PromptBranch

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Local-first MCP server for versioning, searching, evaluating, and improving AI prompts.

How to run each

prompt-smith As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install prompt-smith@claude-community

PromptBranch As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio promptbranch -- npx -y @promptbranch/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: prompt-smith · What it can do: PromptBranch · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built