Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

mem0 vs total-recall

mem0 is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by mem0ai. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). total-recall is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by strvmarv. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacemem0total-recall
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 54a03cc
Forks (GitHub): 7 898
Stars (GitHub): 67 138
Not marked · First seen
Listed
Version: 4.0.4
Forks (GitHub): 5
Stars (GitHub): 15
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

mem0 vs total-recall
Factmem0total-recall
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)67 138 (better)15 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)7 898 (better)5 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runsInstalls as a plugin bundleInstalls as a plugin bundle
TransportNot statedNot stated
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Hooks it runs (differs)Not published3
Parts of the bundle (differs)57
Licence (differs)Not statedMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/mem0ai/mem0github.com/strvmarv/total-recall
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen (differs)2026-10-112026-10-12

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

mem0

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Connect Mem0 to Claude to give your agent persistent memory across sessions. Claude can store user preferences, project context, and conversation history, then search, update, or forget them as new information comes in. Useful for coding assistants that remember your codebase conventions, support agents that recall customer history, research workflows that build context over weeks, or any use case where Claude resets back to zero today. Memories are scoped per user, agent, or session. Cloud-hosted, no local install.

total-recall

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Coding Agents forget everything when a session ends. total-recall fixes that: a shared memory layer that persists across sessions, tools, and devices. Memory is organized into three tiers (Hot / Warm / Cold) with a 4,000-token budget enforced automatically — so Claude gets relevant context injected at session start without carrying stale noise. Semantic search (all-MiniLM-L6-v2 embeddings, offline) retrieves the right memories on demand. A knowledge base lets you ingest READMEs, API docs, and architecture notes that are retrieved semantically when relevant. An eval framework lets you measure retrieval quality, run benchmarks, and compare config changes — so you know memory is actually helping. All state is local: SQLite + ONNX embeddings, no external services, no API keys required. Works across Claude Code, Copilot CLI, Cursor, Cline, and OpenCode — existing memories auto-import on first run.

How to run each

mem0 As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install mem0@claude-community

total-recall As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install total-recall@claude-community

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: mem0 · What it can do: total-recall · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built