Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

novel-studio vs Writing MCP

novel-studio is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by MJbae. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). Writing MCP is an MCP server published by hannasdev. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-16. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacenovel-studioWriting MCP
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 1.1.0
Forks (GitHub): 38
Stars (GitHub): 156
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 3.29.3
Downloads/month (npm): 526
Downloads/week (npm): 135
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 1
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

novel-studio vs Writing MCP
Factnovel-studioWriting MCP
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)156 (better)1 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)38 (better)0 (worse)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (@hanna84/mcp-writing)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published3, secrets among them: 0
Parts of the bundle (differs)28Not a bundle
Licence (differs)Apache-2.0Not stated
Repository (differs)github.com/mjbae/novel-studiogithub.com/hannasdev/mcp-writing
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

novel-studio

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

An end-to-end web novel production system built on Claude Code. Combines 18 specialist agents and 10 skills to automate the full pipeline: propose → design → create → polish → rewrite.

Writing MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Metadata-first fiction editing and reasoning tools for long-form writing projects.

How to run each

novel-studio As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install novel-studio@claude-community

Writing MCP As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "WRITING_SYNC_DIR=<YOUR_WRITING_SYNC_DIR>" --transport stdio mcp-writing -- npx -y @hanna84/mcp-writing

Requires: WRITING_SYNC_DIR

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of novel-studio publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: novel-studio · What it can do: Writing MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built