Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

trace-mcp vs io.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp

trace-mcp is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Nikolai Vysotskyi. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). io.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp is an MCP server published by CodeAlive-AI. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-23. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacetrace-mcpio.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp
Community marketplace nikolai-vysotskyi/trace-mcp Listed
Version: 3.38.0
Forks (GitHub): 24
Stars (GitHub): 193
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 3.0.3
Forks (GitHub): 9
Stars (GitHub): 90
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

trace-mcp vs io.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp
Facttrace-mcpio.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)193 (better)90 (worse)
Forks (GitHub) (differs)24 (better)9 (worse)
Last release (differs)2026-10-20Not published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (ghcr.io/codealive-ai/codealive-mcp:3.0.3)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published1, secrets among them: 1
Hooks it runs (differs)2Not published
Parts of the bundle (differs)3Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/nikolai-vysotskyi/trace-mcpgithub.com/codealive-ai/codealive-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)40
First seen (differs)2026-10-142026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

trace-mcp

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Framework-aware code intelligence: semantic search, refactoring, change-impact, security scanning, and decision memory across 88 frameworks and 81 languages.

io.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Semantic code search and analysis from CodeAlive for AI assistants and agents.

How to run each

trace-mcp As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add nikolai-vysotskyi/trace-mcp
/plugin install trace-mcp@trace-mcp

io.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp As a local MCP server: Docker image

Claude Code
claude mcp add --env "CODEALIVE_API_KEY=<YOUR_CODEALIVE_API_KEY>" --transport stdio codealive-mcp -- docker run -i --rm -e CODEALIVE_API_KEY ghcr.io/codealive-ai/codealive-mcp:3.0.3

Requires: CODEALIVE_API_KEY (secret)

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of trace-mcp publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: trace-mcp · What it can do: io.github.CodeAlive-AI/codealive-mcp · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built