Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

skill-picker vs Rules MCP

skill-picker is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by qhuang20. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). Rules MCP is an MCP server published by AKR1166. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-22. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplaceskill-pickerRules MCP
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 3
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.3.1
Downloads/month (npm): 205
Downloads/week (npm): 38
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

skill-picker vs Rules MCP
Factskill-pickerRules MCP
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)3No figure on GitHub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0No figure on GitHub
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleOn your machine (@akr1166org/rules-mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedstdio
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks for (differs)Not published6, secrets among them: 0
Parts of the bundle (differs)1Not a bundle
LicenceNot statedNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/qhuang20/skill-pickergithub.com/akr1166/rules-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen (differs)2026-10-122026-10-11

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

skill-picker

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Compare AI coding skills head-to-head to find which one works best for your task. Run controlled A/B tests: same model (Claude Code), same tasks, different skills. Each candidate runs in an isolated worktree sub-agent. Output: a markdown comparison report with scores and a winner.

Rules MCP

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

MCP for rules/skills/knowledge evaluation for Cursor, Claude, VS Code, and Antigravity.

How to run each

skill-picker As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install skill-picker@claude-community

Rules MCP As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio rules-mcp -- npx -y @akr1166org/rules-mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

The marketplaces of skill-picker publish no settings it asks for, so we do not compare settings.

What it can do: skill-picker · What it can do: Rules MCP · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built