shopify-plugin vs io.github.alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store
shopify-plugin is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by Shopify. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). io.github.alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store is an MCP server published by alex-brecher. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-16. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.
Where each is published
| Marketplace | ||
|---|---|---|
| Claude Code: claude-plugins-community | Listed Version: 1.0.0 Forks (GitHub): 1 Stars (GitHub): 7 Not marked · First seen |
Not listed |
| Official MCP Registry | Not listed | Listed Version: 2.0.1 Downloads/month (npm): 873 Downloads/week (npm): 135 Forks (GitHub): 3 Stars (GitHub): 5 Not marked · First seen |
Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.
The facts side by side
| Fact | shopify-plugin | io.github.alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store |
|---|---|---|
| Marketplaces that list it | 1 | 1 |
| Stars (GitHub) (differs) | 7 (better) | 5 (worse) |
| Forks (GitHub) (differs) | 1 (worse) | 3 (better) |
| Last release | Not published | Not published |
| Where it runs (differs) | On your machine (@shopify/dev-mcp) | On your machine (shopify-multi-store-mcp-server) |
| Transport (differs) | Not stated | stdio |
| Tools it declares | Not published | Not published |
| Environment variables it asks for | Not published | Not published |
| Parts of the bundle (differs) | 1 | Not a bundle |
| Licence (differs) | MIT | Not stated |
| Repository (differs) | github.com/shopify/shopify-plugins | github.com/alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store |
| Changes in the last 7 days | 0 | 0 |
| First seen (differs) | 2026-10-12 | 2026-10-11 |
Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.
What each says it does
shopify-plugin
This plugin connects AI coding agents to the Shopify Dev MCP server, giving them access to Shopify's dev docs, API schemas, and development guidance.
io.github.alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store
Connect AI agents to multiple Shopify Admin stores for reports, comparisons, and guarded updates.
How to run each
shopify-plugin As a Claude Code plugin
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install shopify-plugin@claude-community
io.github.alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store As a local MCP server: npm package
claude mcp add --transport stdio shopify-multi-store -- npx -y shopify-multi-store-mcp-server
Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.
Tools each declares
Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.
Settings each asks for
Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.
What it can do: shopify-plugin · What it can do: io.github.alex-brecher/shopify-multi-store · Compare two other plugins
Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.