Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

backend-security-skills vs StackShield

backend-security-skills is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by souzavinny. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Claude Code: claude-plugins-community). StackShield is an MCP server published by stackshield.io. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Official MCP Registry). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-13. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacebackend-security-skillsStackShield
Claude Code: claude-plugins-community Listed
Version: 0.2.2
Forks (GitHub): 0
Stars (GitHub): 2
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.1
No figure published
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

backend-security-skills vs StackShield
Factbackend-security-skillsStackShield
Marketplaces that list it11
Stars (GitHub) (differs)2No figure on GitHub
Forks (GitHub) (differs)0No figure on GitHub
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Installs as a plugin bundleRemote server (stackshield.io/mcp)
Transport (differs)Not statedStreamable HTTP
Tools it declaresNot publishedNot published
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)4Not a bundle
Licence (differs)MITNot stated
Repository (differs)github.com/souzavinny/backend-security-skillsNot stated
Changes in the last 7 days00
First seen2026-10-112026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)no remote endpoint we checknot checked yet

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

backend-security-skills

In its own words, on Claude Code: claude-plugins-community:

Security auditor for Node.js and Python backend APIs. Four skills cover pre-audit reconnaissance (route graph, auth matrix, invariants), static code audit across the OWASP API Security Top 10 via 8 parallel agents (authz / authn / injection / deserialization-and-ssrf / crypto-and-secrets / resource-and-business-logic / config-and-supply-chain / llm-and-integration), and live HTTP probing that verifies findings with reproducible curl transcripts. Outputs markdown or JSON with severity + CWE + OWASP API Top 10 tags per finding. Built for Express, NestJS, Fastify, Koa, Next.js, FastAPI, Django, Flask, and Starlette.

StackShield

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

External security monitoring for Laravel apps: list domains, trigger scans, read issues and fixes.

How to run each

backend-security-skills As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add anthropics/claude-plugins-community
/plugin install backend-security-skills@claude-community

StackShield As a remote MCP server

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport http stackshield https://stackshield.io/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Tools each declares

Neither one's marketplaces publish a list of tools, so there is nothing to compare.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: backend-security-skills · What it can do: StackShield · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-community/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built