Ext Ops Panel
Open dashboard
Comparison

squirrelscan vs io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp

squirrelscan is a plugin bundle for AI coding tools published by squirrelscan. Marketplaces we read that list it: 1 (Community GitHub marketplaces). io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp is an MCP server published by microsoft. Marketplaces we read that list it: 4 (Official MCP Registry, Claude Code: claude-plugins-official, Cursor: cursor/plugins, Docker MCP Catalog). As of our marketplace pass on 2026-10-14. This pair was picked by a reader, not by our comparison rule, so search engines are asked not to index the page.

Where each is published

Where each is published
Marketplacesquirrelscanio.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Community marketplace squirrelscan/squirrelscan Listed
Version: not stated
Forks (GitHub): 10
Stars (GitHub): 99
Not marked · First seen
Not listed
Official MCP Registry Not listed Listed
Version: 0.0.82
Downloads/month (npm): 30 500 978
Downloads/week (npm): 6 524 222
Forks (GitHub): 3 244
Stars (GitHub): 38 101
Not marked · First seen
Claude Code: claude-plugins-official Not listed Listed
Version: not stated
Forks (GitHub): 4 268
Stars (GitHub): 37 981
Not marked · First seen
Cursor: cursor/plugins Not listed Listed
Version: 1.0.0
Forks (GitHub): 1 107
Stars (GitHub): 11 352
Not marked · First seen
Docker MCP Catalog Not listed Listed
Version: sha256:8771dc4666e7
Forks (GitHub): 3 244
Pulls (Docker Hub): 2 428 126
Stars (Docker Hub): 38
Stars (GitHub): 38 101
Not marked · First seen

Each figure is the marketplace's own and is never added up across marketplaces. A marketplace that publishes no figure shows none: no number is not zero.

The facts side by side

squirrelscan vs io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Factsquirrelscanio.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp
Marketplaces that list it (differs)1 (worse)4 (better)
Stars (GitHub) (differs)99 (worse)38 101 (better)
Pulls (Docker Hub) (differs)No figure on Docker Hub2 428 126
Forks (GitHub) (differs)10 (worse)4 268 (better)
Last releaseNot publishedNot published
Where it runs (differs)Remote server (mcp.squirrelscan.com/mcp)On your machine (@playwright/mcp)
Transport (differs)Streamable HTTPstdio
Tools it declares (differs)Not published23
Environment variables it asks forNot publishedNot published
Parts of the bundle (differs)31
LicenceMITMIT
Repository (differs)github.com/squirrelscan/skillsgithub.com/microsoft/playwright-mcp
Changes in the last 7 days (differs)20
First seen (differs)2026-10-142026-10-11
Endpoint at the last check (differs)Responded 45 h ago, requires a keyno remote endpoint we check

Lines where the two differ have a tinted background and bold values. Where the data itself says which value is better (more marketplaces, a larger figure of the same marketplace, a fresher release, a verified mark on a marketplace that lists both), the better one is also marked green with ▲ and the worse one red with ▼. Where it runs, the transport, the tools, the settings, hooks, the bundle's parts, the licence and the week's changes are marked only as different: more or fewer is not better in itself.

What each says it does

squirrelscan

In its own words, on Community GitHub marketplaces:

Website QA tool built for coding agents (Claude Code, Cursor). 300+ rules across SEO, performance, security, accessibility & agent experience: audit from the CLI, fix findings in code, publish reports, and connect over MCP.

io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp

In its own words, on Official MCP Registry:

Playwright Tools for MCP

How to run each

squirrelscan As a Claude Code plugin

Claude Code
/plugin marketplace add squirrelscan/squirrelscan
/plugin install squirrelscan@squirrelscan

io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp As a local MCP server: npm package

Claude Code
claude mcp add --transport stdio playwright-mcp -- npx -y @playwright/mcp

Commands built only from what the marketplaces declare; the full set for every client is on each card.

Only squirrelscan has a remote endpoint we check. How we check endpoints

Tools each declares

The marketplaces of squirrelscan publish no list of tools, so we do not compare tools.

Settings each asks for

Neither one's marketplaces publish the settings it asks for.

What it can do: squirrelscan · What it can do: io.github.microsoft/playwright-mcp · Compare two other plugins

Data comes from public marketplace files in GitHub repositories of their authors. Data comes from the Official MCP Registry (registry.modelcontextprotocol.io), CC0 1.0. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/anthropics/claude-plugins-official/blob/HEAD/.claude-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the public marketplace file https://github.com/cursor/plugins/blob/HEAD/.cursor-plugin/marketplace.json. Data comes from the Docker MCP Catalog (desktop.docker.com/mcp/catalog) and Docker Hub. Figures come from our own regular passes over the marketplaces, last read on . We publish no contact details for plugin publishers.

Where the data comes from: how the catalog is built